Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sinar P2 8x10 600-1200mm realistic for outdoor photography?

Question Sinar P2 8x10 600-1200mm realistic for outdoor photography?

Hi all,

This is my first post here, I've loved how much of an incredible resource this website is and have been reading endlessly on all the available information.

I am a professional photographer and used digital and medium format cameras for a very long time but are looking to get into large format. Thanks to all the information on here I've been able to learn a lot all ready as it seems like a completely different beast from medium format. I am a landscape photographer with a special interest in long focal lengths [400mm +] I mainly drive to the general area of the location and with medium format have walked any distance required to get the shot. However I'm thinking this is impossible with a 8x10 so have decided to have a 4x4 quad motorbike fitted out to take the 8x10 so I can drive even to the hardest spots without having to carry too far.

I am looking to buy an 8x10 as well as some large focal length lenses [600-1200] although I have just realized that my brother has a Sinar P2 8x10 that he left before going overseas that I can use. I want some advice on if the P2 would be able to be used for what I've described in terms of physically possibility [weight etc] as well as good for the task [600-1200mm lenses]

Initially I was looking at using the P2 and buying these lenses here: Although they are set up on a Linhof board so will have to use an adaptor?
    From what I've read using these 600-1200 lenses you can only shoot 'straight through' with the P2 - I don't think this would be an issue as I've only ever shot like this with fixed focal planes [digital, medium format etc]
    This is another point for choice in camera as I will be just shooting landscape with no twist needed in focus. I just want the large negative asset.