Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Help Reading A Negative Please

Help Reading A Negative Please

I am looking for a little help reading a negative.

I exposed this negative this morning as I wanted to test Pyrocat HD as a semi stand just because I am new to Pyrocat HD

Film: Kodak TMAX 400
    ISO Used: 200
    Developer: PyroCat HD 1.5+1+150
    Time: 50 Minutes
    Pre-Soak: 5 Minutes
    Agitation: 60 seconds and then 15 seconds at each 1/4 interval using Paterson tank and Mod54 Holder
    Water Sop bath
    Ilford Fixer: 8 Minutes

To me, the negative looks a little on the bright side.

My initial thoughts is that I have probably over-exposed the negative by using ISO 200 not realising that Pyrocat HD maintains it's film speed but I am not that sure.

http://www.spiritsofsilver.com tgtaylor's Avatar

Re: Help Reading A Negative Please

It looks overexposed to my eye but the rebate is good indicating proper development.

Thomas

Quote Originally Posted by tgtaylor View Post
    It looks overexposed to my eye but the rebate is good indicating proper development.

Thomas
    Thanks Thomas. Looks as though I was on the right track. Might try moving the ISO to nearer Box speed when using Pyro

What process will you use to print? Looks like a fine alt process negative.
    "Landscapes exist in the material world yet soar in the realms of the spirit..." Tsung Ping, 5th Century China

I dont have a darkroom or anything like that, I will print using an Epson printer

The negative looks great to me. Overexposed by one stop should be no problem with TMY either. Just print a bit darker; your positive rendering looks "underexposed" to me. There should be more than one way to scan and render negative, or...? I could certainly make a fine darkroom print from that neg.

Doremus