Thread: Parallel lines and circles

Parallel lines and circles

I have limited experience with a large format camera and I have not had to worry about things like converging lines. Tomorrow I have to make a photograph in which the camera will be at a 50 to 60 degree angle to the top of a table. The top is made of ceramic tile . The only object on the table is a soup bowl about 8 inches in diameter. The image will consist of most, but not all, of the bowl plus part of the table top.

I did a quick test tonight for composition. I'm using a 4x5 camera and a 150mm lens. The shot covers an area on the table of about 12 inches by 15 inches. The grout lines between the tiles on the table top converge. Also, to my eyes, the bowl appears slightly oval rather than round.

How can I maintain the 50 to 60 degree angle of view and at the same time avoid convergence of the parallel lines?

How can I make sure that the bowl appears as a circle, or am I just imagining that it is slightly oval?

Comments most appreciated.

Why do you not want the grout lines to converge?

With most 150 mm lenses, 30 to 40 degrees from normal (30 to 40 degrees from perpendicular, or 50 to 60 degrees from the plane of the table, if I understand you right) I don't think you would have enough lens coverage to maintain parallel lines, by using direct or indirect shift.

If you want the bowl to be perfectly round instead of oval you must have the film plane (the camera back) parallel to the table and bowl. That is simply the only geometry of the set up which will produce round bowls and show no convergence of the grout lines.

If this is what you want to achieve, simply set up the camera to shoot straight down on the bowl and counter.

If you want the appearance of a dinner looking at a bowl of soup, the most natural appearance would indeed have perspective of converging lines and an oval bowl rim.

Wilbur,