Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lens with good color accuracy? For 4x5 Field Camera

Thumbs up Lens with good color accuracy? For 4x5 Field Camera

Hi,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I am new to 4x5 large format photography although I am experienced in photography. I am looking to purchase my first 4x5 field camera.

I am looking at the Toyo 45A and Wista 45D. They seem to be the most affordable and compact/lightweight.

For my first lens, I am looking at the Nikon Nikkor W 135mm F5.6.

What other lenses would you recommend? What should I be looking for? I am looking for something in the 100-200mm ish range.

To me, the important thing is perfect color reproduction and no vignetting. I know that developing quality/chemistry, age of the film and the quality of scanner are factors as well. Sharpness is important too but not as important as color accuracy and fidelity.

Thank you

Re: Lens with good color accuracy? For 4x5 Field Camera

Let me add: A lens with the best contrast is also very important.

Best contrast, color reproduction and no vignetting is what I am going after.

No vignetting and good contrast is the easy part. Perfect color has been a challenge forever. One approach is to include a color chart in the picture, or on a separate film at the same exposure and then color match while printing or scanning and post processing. That's a good beginning point.

Studio or natural light is another topic.

Just curious. How did you decide on the Toyo 45A and Wista 45D? These are very nice cameras, but you also mentioned affordablity and compact/lightweightness. There are many 4x5 cameras out there that are more affordable and lighter.

If consistent color is important to you, I would stick to lenses of the same era made by the same company. In this case that would be a Nikon 210W of the same age as your 135mm.
    “You often feel tired, not because you've done too much, but because you've done too little of what sparks a light in you.”