Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Film User

New Film User

Hello,
    I'm interested in learning to use film for photography and would like to get into using something larger than 35mm film. I however am not sure where to start as this is seeming to be a bit different from 35mm film photography. My question is what are all the parts involved in putting together a film camera, so I know what to start buying? also what is the choice of 4x5 cameras to use and is easy to find?
    sorry if this is a ignorant question but I'm a noob.
    Thank you

Huub

Re: New Film User

Th homepage of this website contains a set of very good articles on almost any subject involved with large format photography. This is the link to the one on equipment: http://www.largeformatphotography.info/matos-begin.html

First of all, thanks for your interest about film. I think that all people that love film are happy to see new people engaging this adventure.

Film photography evolved during more than a century long, and there is an incredibly amazing vault of imaging culture (and powerful resources) to explore.

You can start with 4x5 if you want, but a good advice is starting by knowing what kind of films are there and how you can use each to enjoy and to get the creative results you want, and for this you will need a 35mm camera to learn to expose and develop film, and what particularities has each type.

Film nature is not the single thing to learn, of course, there is a lot about lenses and cameras, but to get results you first need to know, control and love a set of individual films.

Later you'll be prepared to start gathering your gear: Money can be important, you can make great Large Format fotographs from a low budget, but it is very important you learn how to spend the money you are to invest.

> Clarify what kind of photography/subjetcs you are to portray, as ideal film, camera and lenses are not the same for portraiture than landscape, for example