Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scanning technique on 4870

Scanning technique on 4870

I have an Epson 4870 with Silverfast AI. I am fairly new to scanning. For the most part, I can get decent scans from chromes. I keep reading in threads about "proper scanning technique" . Other than setting highlights and shadows in the histogram, deciding whether to scan at 8 bit or 16, what other "techniques" am I missing? What other features do people use regularly? What settings do you most often use? I scan at 2400 ppi.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Harley

Several things:

1) Have you calibrated yoru scanner to Silverfast? I believe the 4870 comes with a Kodak IT8 target to use for calibration but that is strictly to calibrate it it to the Epson software. You would be well advised to get an independent calibration package to do so with Silverfast.

2) When you set the highlights make sure you actually set a white and black point using the triangles so that you are not clipping at either end.

3) Make sure you are scanning with ALL the filters off ... no sharpening or other filtration.

4) You may want to adjust the brightness/contrast/saturation curves but not necessarily for every image.

5) At 2400 ppi you are scanning at a higher resolution than the scanner may really be delivering. It is in the right ballpark but you might want to try a scan or two at slightly lower resolition, say 1800 ppi.

Photographer, Machinist, etc. Jeffrey Sipress's Avatar

Ted, I believe that an it8 reference target is an industry standard that may not be limited to a particular piece of software. I have a Faust target (4x5, with data table CD) that I can use with any scanner or calibration software. In fact, I've calibrated my 4870 with it using the Monaco software. The same target can be used with the Epson or Silverfast packages that provide calibration routines.