Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: backpacking with a Tiltall?

backpacking with a Tiltall?

Call me crazy, but I love the design of the classic Tiltall - robust, simple, elegant, functional - and I'm wondering if it would make for a good travel/hiking/backpacking tripod? At over 6lbs, I understand that is getting a bit on the heavy side, but for the extra stability it offers, is it worth it? I would be using this with a Technika III, sometimes with a relatively heavy, 1.5lbs Wista sliding 6x9 back/loupe combo I've adapted for use on it. I would probably also use it with a Mamiya Super 23.

As a student, I don't have a lot of money to spend (the Technika III was the deal of a century, as was much of my other equipment) but I of course don't want to cheap out on a tripod. While a different animal, I've also considered this: https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...um_tripod.html

Your thoughts would be much appreciated! I currently backpack with an old Linhof Report, though it's a bit questionable for use with medium format, let alone a field camera.

Thank you!

Les

Re: backpacking with a Tiltall?

Here is my philosophy. Get the best tripod you can afford (preferably 3-leg without mid column) and carbon fiber for light weight....something that would last many years. This would allow you to shoot 4x5....tho you may have to get something even more sturdy for larger formats. I've seen folks (a hint) with 1/2 closet of tripods and none of them performed as desired. Don't forget to obtain really good tripod head, as well.

Les