Thread: Shutters/lenses for Linhof Master Technika

Shutters/lenses for Linhof Master Technika

I am a long time user of medium format cameras. I have decided to buy a portable 4x5 camera as a supplement for my Hasselblads and P67's - primary for use on my trips. I have no previous experience in 4x5. Are currently working on a book pr oject on tibetans in the Himalayas (black and white). Hence, I shoot both people and landscapes. Have tryed the Linhof Master Tecknika at a collegue photographers studio in Pari s, and have decided for this camera - it feels good, like a huge leica M camera with the RF mechanism. My question is regarding lenses for this camera. Need a short tele and a gentle wideangle. Rodenstock Apo sironar-S 210 mm, and t he new Aspherical Schneider XL 110 mm appear to be good lenses and are my choice sofar.

1) Do anybody have experience with these lenses when cammed on the Master Techn ika

2) Which shutter's should I decide for. Most photographers seems to buy their 4x 5 lenses with Copal shutters?, however, I notice that there is also Prontor shut ters (German) and Compur shutters on the market. Have never tryed any of these s hutters but they sounds like they are of higher quality? - can anyone guide me h ere. (as far as I know the Hasselblad lenses have Prontor shutters and they have always worked fine for me) (PS: the shutters has to be reliable in cold temperatures)

Thanks in advance for your time,

Jesper Sorensen

Please direct your camming question directly to Linhof in Munich or your local Linhof distributor regarding camming the 110mm lens.

To this date this has not been done in the U.S. and no 110 cam exists.

As for shutters most lenses come in Copal. Compur will add substantially to the cost of the lens as will the Prontor Professional. There can be problems mounting the Prontor Professional 01 shutter on a Technika with short lenses as this shutter is too big to fit the required recessed lens board.