Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: English large format users

English large format users

Hi Everyone
    I'm fairly new to this site but was a sometimes user of the old compuserve photoforum about a decade ago. I am an amateur with a few monochrome exhibitions to my name now in the West of England and produced my first photographic book ( of aspects of Andalucia, Spain ) earlier this year. I bought a 54 ( ebony) 2 years ago and have now bought a 10x8 (Toyo monorail) cause it was a cheap way into the format. I bought a Symmar S 240 lens today from a very helpful Mr Cad and am almost ready to take my first shots.

My question is based on the observation that as the format appears to increase so the isolation of the photographer increases as well. I know absolutely no-body else who shoots in this format (apart from a couple of emails exchanged with Paul Owen. Is there any organised, formal or informal large format photographers group or club in England? If there is no such animal shoud there be one, or do we all slog away in isolation?
    Is there anybody out there :-) ?

The RPS?
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)

Geoff, I aquired my Toyo 45A just before Xmas, and knew absolutely no one using LF around here in Bucks, other than the cameras previous owner 60 miles away who now only worships his DSLR. I had to research archives and ask questions on forums such as this. There is nothing like talking to real people, as I found out last weekend. I went to the LF Workshop in the Lake District organised by Paul Owen, it was a very useful experience. It's likely that there will be more gatherings. Would these interest you? Myself, I am off on Friday to the Isle of Skye for 8 days for some solitary wanderings hoping for good light. This I too enjoy.

Is that a Hassleblad? Brian Vuillemenot's Avatar

Slogging away in isolation forces you to dig deep creatively, and can greatly accelerate the rate of your artistic development.
    Brian Vuillemenot

Hello Geoff.

Good to have you aboard.