Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    487

    Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    Hello. I have an Epson Perfection 3200 Photo scanner and a MacBook Pro. I’m trying to use this setup to scan my negatives, but yesterday when I was setting it up, something was not working. According to the instructions I got, after downloading the drivers, I should see an icon called “Smart Panel” but I don’t see that anywhere. Has anyone had any luck using this scanner with the newer versions of OS? I am running OS 10.12.

    Thanks.
    --Mario

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    487

    Re: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    --Mario

  3. #3
    David Lobato David Lobato's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Baltimore MD
    Posts
    921

    Re: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    I have a V700 and it should be similar to using your 3200.

    Did you double click the file in the Download folder? And then install the driver app? You may also need to delete the old Epson Scanner app before installing the new one.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    487

    Re: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    Quote Originally Posted by David Lobato View Post
    I have a V700 and it should be similar to using your 3200.

    Did you double click the file in the Download folder? And then install the driver app? You may also need to delete the old Epson Scanner app before installing the new one.
    Yes, I did that and I did not get the Smart Panel. When I click on the Epson icon I can scan, but the choices I have to scan, all the features, seem very minimal, like I'm missing something.

    I'm wondering if I am going to have to invest in Vuescan or some other software?
    --Mario

  5. #5
    SE Penna.
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,388

    Re: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    Can you use the Epson Scan software? I use Epson Scan with a V750 on a MacBook Air running Sierra 10.12.2.

    Epson Scan is free from the Epson site.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    487

    Re: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    Quote Originally Posted by chassis View Post
    Can you use the Epson Scan software? I use Epson Scan with a V750 on a MacBook Air running Sierra 10.12.2.

    Epson Scan is free from the Epson site.
    That's what I'm using but, for example, I can't really tinker with the negative. I can't manipulate the highlights or the shadows or anything. That's why I say that it feels like I'm missing something.
    --Mario

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    487

    Re: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    So, I asked Epson a question about my setup and not being able to use their (Epson's) software to scan and tweak my negatives and this is what they responded:

    Thank you for contacting Epson.

    The Perfection 3200 Photo Scanner was discontinued in 2004. We are no longer making updated drivers for this unit. Image Capture is an Apple application and we only provide the means to communicate with our scanner. A version of Epson Scan is not available for 10.7, 10.8 or 10.9 for your scanner since Apple discontinued support for Rosetta that was needed for the Epson Scan version for this scanner to work with their system. When updating the ICA Driver from Apple Update, you will need to make sure the scanner is plugged in and turned on. Once the driver is installed correctly, you will need to go to Applications and open Image Capture or go to the System Preferences and choose Print and Scan. Here you will see the scanner. Click on it and you will see a Scan button.

    If you require further assistance with this particular issue, please ensure all of our previous correspondence is contained in your reply, so we can better track the history of this issue.

    If you have a different issue, please submit another E-form via our website (http://www.epson.com), and we will respond in a timely manner. Thank you again for contacting Epson.


    C. G.
    Advanced Customer Support Specialist
    Epson America, Inc.
    Any suggestions on alternatives?

    Thank you.
    --Mario

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    5,169

    Re: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    Quote Originally Posted by macandal View Post
    So, I asked Epson a question about my setup and not being able to use their (Epson's) software to scan and tweak my negatives and this is what they responded:



    Any suggestions on alternatives?

    Thank you.
    IMO your best option to use the 3200 with original Epson software is to buy an older MAC that will run Snow Leopard (10.6) or lower. All systems prior to 10.6 have Rosetta, which you will need for full functionality with the Epson 3200 and the original Epson software.

    Many of us who use older scanners operate them with vintage computers and OS systems. Much simpler, and in most cases more economical, to do this than to try to cobble software together to make them work with MAC operating systems more recent than OS 10.6.

    Sandy
    http://www.sandykingphotography.com/
    For discussion and information about carbon transfer please visit the carbon group at Yahoo.
    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...nTransfer/info

  9. #9
    scm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    285

    Re: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    VueScan will almost certainly work with your 3200 and a recent version of OSX. You can download a trial version for free and find out quickly and easily.

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    San Francisco, CA
    Posts
    487

    Re: Epson Perfection 3200 and OS 10.12

    Quote Originally Posted by scm View Post
    VueScan will almost certainly work with your 3200 and a recent version of OSX. You can download a trial version for free and find out quickly and easily.
    I have downloaded the trial version and it does work. However, I get the sense that people are not fully behind VueScan, or am I mistaken?
    --Mario

Similar Threads

  1. Epson 3200 with Vista
    By Dan Baumbach in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30-Dec-2007, 19:18
  2. Epson F-3200
    By Eirik Berger in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17-Dec-2004, 11:06

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •