Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: shooting in winter (in New England)

shooting in winter (in New England)

Am interested in how LF and ULF photographers deal with shooting in winter. Back in the 1970's I was a student at RIT and on a typical winter weekend day for breakfast would have steak and potatoes, along with a strong cup or two of coffee. Drive south of Rochester and hike up a gorge with my 8x10 B&J wooden view and more in my backpack and a wooden B&J over the shoulder. Thermos of hot tea with plenty of honey got me through the day. Hiked out as the sun set. Well times change... Still shoot LF and ULF yearlong, but when winter weather gets challenging, backpack a Pentax 67 with 3 lenses. Now wear a pair of North Face winter insulated boots with gaiters. In the 1970s, Bean's Duck boots with two pairs of wool socks. Used to hike up frozen streams and small rivers that had waterfalls upstream. Fell through the ice a couple of times. Bushwhacked all the time but now just hike up streams and on trails.

Was wondering how others deal with shooting in the winter, especially under adverse conditions.

Re: shooting in winter (in New England)

I live at the edge of the woods, so I don't need to make a day of it. I just dress for the weather (gaiters over my boots, heavy Bean's jacket, hat, mittens or gloves) and go out for a couple hours at a time with some snacks in my pocket. That fits my schedule too as I have other things to do each day (parenting, work, etc..)

The new metal and plastic snowshoes I have really liked the past couple of winters when the snow is deep. I don't go anywhere where I could fall through ice into deep water. If I break some ice and step down into a little slush no big deal, but people routinely die around here sledding onto thin ice (probably drunk) and disappearing.