Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 8x10 Film holders that only open 90degrees?

8x10 Film holders that only open 90degrees?

Hi!

I'm new to 8x10, but not new to LF. I ordered 3 8x10, no-name holders off of the bay a few weeks ago.... the cheap, dirty holders all work... but the film loading flap at the bottom only opens to 90 degrees! Is this normal for 8x10? all my 4x5 film flaps open to a completely flat 180degrees.

Since the flap doesn't open all the way, I have to bend the film to fit over the flap and under the guide-rails. One my paper negative test shots, the back of the paper got scratched up as it rubbed over the protruding flap... and now I dont want to risk damaging my $x/sheet film like this...

is this normal for 8x10??
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails holderQuestion.jpg  

Re: 8x10 Film holders that only open 90degrees?

They should open all the way... Is there tape on the flap for the hinge??? You might have to remove the flap, clean underneath, and re-tape the hinge... Might be debris preventing it from fully opening...

Steve K

Quote Originally Posted by LabRat View Post
    They should open all the way... Is there tape on the flap for the hinge??? You might have to remove the flap, clean underneath, and re-tape the hinge... Might be debris preventing it from fully opening...

Steve K
    Yeah, it looks like something funny is going on with the hinge tape. They need to open all the way to load your film. I'd suggest carefully removing the hinge tape and flaps---the thin wood flaps are very fragile and easily broken---give them a good cleaning and re-taping with book binder's tape. You could use gaffer's tape although gaffer's will also make the flaps stand up at 90 deg. but is flexible enough that you can hold the flap flat for loading film (it gets more flexible with experience)