Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommend a scanner

Recommend a scanner

Hi,

I am looking for recommendations on a scanner for 4x5. I merely need the scanner for the Web. I have no plans at all to ever print from a scan.

However, I would like a scanner that shows as best as possible the detail and sharpness that LF can bring. The majority of 4x5 scans that I have seen have really underwhelmed me at this point.

Does this scanner exist or am I deluding myself?

Thanks

J

Recommend a scanner

The web can not show the best possible detail and sharpness from an LF neg, so why does your scanner need to be able to pull it?

Your two requirements are somewhat at odds. What is your budget, that will help us narrow down what is reasonable.

Recommend a scanner

I am quite new to digital scanning and it never occured to me that the web isn't capable of producing the detail and sharpness from a LF neg.

I did however look at these: http://www.kgcphoto.com/Utah/willow-cottonwood-4x5.htm

and was rather impressed with the scan. They were drum scanned.

Thanks for your reply

Recommend a scanner

For the most part, I think most any scanner with an optical 800 or better, and a transparency adapter big enough will serve your purpose. What will make the difference is learning your scanning software, and how to effectively take that raw data and make it web ready.

Good sharpening techniques, understanding the restrictions of web color (not safe palette mumbo jumbo, but at least knowing roughly what it will look like on different systems), and file size optimization will make more of a difference for your stated purpose, than a super sharp drum scanned original vs. a pro-sumer flatbed.

The Epson 3200 photo would be a great budget buy for this.

the newer Epsons (4990, etc.) and the Microteks are fairly reasonably priced too, and more than sufficient.