Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Does It Really Matter?

Does It Really Matter?

I'm new to LF and looking at buying a 8x10 camera. I know 4x5 is popular, but I know I want the bigger format since I'm going to print really big, so I would prefer to only send my money once. I watched a presentation by Clyde Butcher (he's a big deal here in Florida) and he mentioned something that stuck with me. Keep in mind this guy as every camera you can imagine and up to 12x20. He said as long as you have a great lens and great film, the rest does not matter (granted you don't have light leaks). Looking to purchase a camera, there are options as low as $1,200 up to $8,000 on eBay. My question is, does it really matter what brand you buy since the function is mostly the same? I realize that some have more movements than others and the material and lighter weight drives the price up. Is this like buying a car where the everyday car will get me there, but the Porsche will get me there in style? I appreciate it in advance.

Re: Does It Really Matter?

Yes and no. The essential view camera function is to hold the lens, move it in and out to focus, and keep the light out. There is nothing magic about it. There are inexpensive (often rather old) cameras that can do just that. They may lack movements you will decide are essential, depending on what you photograph. I couldn't work with an 8X10 that did not have front tilt. Some people get buy without it. using old Kodak's with front rise and back tilt. It depends on what you are using it for. I couldn't get by without a great deal of front rise either, but some people do. If you're shooting architecture, then movements matter. A lot. You can go a lot lower than $800 on an 8X10.

Though movements do matter, there is no one answer for everybody on what is essential. The answer is largely dictated by subject matter.