Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: backpack that can accomodate manfrotto 3051

backpack that can accomodate manfrotto 3051

was hoping somebody had experience using a manfrotto 3051 in the field. i understand it is quite heavy but i have used one and like how sturdy it is. does anybody know of a camera backpack that can carry a large, heavy tripod?

Re: backpack that can accomodate manfrotto 3051

The 3051 collaspes to about 36" without head -- not many packs that long to fit inside...and at 13 pounds (w/o head), certainly not one of the lightest (even outweighs a Ries A100)! I suppose you could strap it onto any pack, but it will be awkward...okay for flat or easy walking.

I hand carry a Ries A100 (with 250 head makes it about 17 pounds). Just got use to it, since it is not convienent to strap in on the pack with the 8x10 inside. I was a trail builder and fire fighter for 10 summers, so on the trail I always had a shovel, pulaski, or something in my hand...so your results may differ.

Since I am often off-trail, or on rough trails, I find it nice to be able to place end the tripod ahead on me on the ground as I step up or down. That is 17 pound less my legs/knees have to handle in one go. The pack with the 8x10 (6 holders, etc) weighs about 45 pounds already!

If you do hand-carry, you can take off the head and put it in your pack to lighten your load in your hand. I have done that occasionally on long hikes back to car or camp and I have no more unexposed film on me. The head weighs 4.75 pounds.
    "Landscapes exist in the material world yet soar in the realms of the spirit..." Tsung Ping, 5th Century China

It depends on your backpack. Mine fits fine on the frame of my Kelty, which is what I typically use to pack my Deardorff, but I have never gotten it onto any of my other packs. I have a cheap, old, Walmart Ozark Trail, internal frame pack that should work, but I can't get it to stay stable for any period of time unless I tie it down on top.