Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Building Peter Lindbergh's sunbounce cage...would appreciate feedback from pros!

Building Peter Lindbergh's sunbounce cage...would appreciate feedback from pros!

Hi all - I’m a documentary photographer who’s working on a portraits series in which I would like to create portraits in look/style of Peter Lindbergh (via the ones shot in the cage), but also inspired by the work of Fazal Sheikh’s portraits in particular his work in the white tents in Africa. (Will link to a mood board at the end of post) While, I’ve watched numerous videos of Peter Lindbergh’s sun-bounce cage at work through BTS youtube videos - any feedback from regarding the set-up, metering and lighting would be great as I begin testing!

By the way, I’ve decided to build the sun-bounce cage out of EMT Canopy materials because of the logistics of the grip (from what I can tell so far it is various single/double wind-ups, 12by frames and etc…) and also I can keep the entire cage on set.

About my gear:

I’m shooting on 8x10 view camera in B&W (the goal of project is to create 8x10 contact prints for each individual portrait). I’m most likely using a 360mm lens, Ilford FP4, a yellow filter for contrast if need be and have access to a pro darkroom.