Thread: How should I submit film for lab processing?

How should I submit film for lab processing?

I do appologise if this has been asked before already, I have searched the forum and not found an answer (though I could probably search for days!)

I'm new to LF photography and was wondering what is the accepted method of submitting film for lab-developing.

Should I package and send it still contained in the darkslide holders or is there a more 'accepted' method? What information should I be supplying along with them?

The other question is can anyone recommend labs for cheap/quality developement in the UK? I know this has been answered already but guess it does no harm tagging it on the end of this. It would have to be mail-order as I live in Guernsey and the only lab who did E6 locally has now stopped.

Hope someone can point me in the right direction, thanks for reading.

Dan.

Take the film out of the holders and put it back into the same box it came in and send that to the lab. I live in the US and can't help you on finding labs in the UK. Good luck with your first sheets.
    Juergen

Thanks very much for the reply. If possible, I'd rather not do that as I bought a box of 50 velvia sheets and could never afford to have 50 developed at the same time. I don't have 25 darkslides either to keep the unexposed film in. Thanks again, I guess yours would be the most sensible method if I hadn't bought such a large box of film!

Most labs will accept film in holders, but you should check.

After you run through your first box, you can of course use that as the previous responder suggested. Also, a lab may have some extra boxes left over which they will give you.