Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: High end scanner options - What's out there?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

High end scanner options - What's out there?

Hello, everyone. This is my first time posting to the forums but I've been a long time lurker and have gained lots of excellent information here over the years.

Here's my sitch: After 17+ years of faithful service, my company wants to put our Scitex EverSmart scanner to pasture. She's still kicking (barely) and it's only a matter of time until she's belly up. So naturally, we wanted to start looking into potential replacements, and I thought that with time and technology advances there would probably be some interesting options out there to consider. Someone please correct me if I'm wrong - but I have yet to find anyone currently manufacturing and updating a scanner comparable to this Scitex?

Let's just say for now there is no budget limitation.

Here's a wish list:
    - Something new
    - warranty
    - tech support
    - flat bed (min 11x17)
    - reflective and trans
    - wet mounting capabilities
    - Operates on current MAC OS
    - USB connect
    - quality that compares to Scitex ( MUST be high end quality)

Now I know that's a hefty wishlist, but it's where I need to start. I full well know getting all of them is not reality. We've considered purchasing a drum scanner in the past but feel the flatbed just gives us more versatility. We do quite a bit of work for museums and gallerys, so scanning large format negatives/prints for wall mural output is not uncommon.

In closing, If anyone has any input on what's out there, what may be coming out soon, or if I'm just in a dreamland on what I'm looking for - please give me your thoughts. And if such a beast doesn't exist, maybe my best option is to have this Scitex refurbished? Is that even an option? I wouldn't even know who services them anymore.

Thanks much for any input ~
    -Cee