Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Drilling Glass

Drilling Glass

Recommendations for a supplier of quality drill bits for glass?

I'm re-purposing some old, large filters and would like to drill some holes in them. I practiced on some scrap glass using 'glass & ceramic' drill bits that wore out almost immediately. I used drilling lube (Mobil 1), with no improvement over some thick conventional lube.

The largest filters are .53" thick (and 8.5" diameter).

Thanks if you can help.
    Jac

Re: Drilling Glass

What size holes?
    “You often feel tired, not because you've done too much, but because you've done too little of what sparks a light in you.”
    ― Alexander Den Heijer, Nothing You Don't Already Know

Quote Originally Posted by Peter J. De Smidt View Post
    What size holes?
    oops! Yes, that is important. Largest hole 12.6mm (1/2" nominal), and 6.4mm (1/4" nominal).

Thanks for the nudge.

I've some experience drilling holes in aquariums. For that, I used diamond bits. They were for bigger holes, but I don't see why smaller ones shouldn't also be ok. Here's a link to one: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...320W4Y6ZCPDBWM
    “You often feel tired, not because you've done too much, but because you've done too little of what sparks a light in you.”

Drew Wiley

They're basically little hole saws with diamond grit attached. Use them with water as a lubricant and at a relatively low (slow) RPM. Take you time, and don't expect an exact hole diameter afterwards.

Quote Originally Posted by Peter J. De Smidt View Post
    I've some experience drilling holes in aquariums. For that, I used diamond bits. They were for bigger holes, but I don't see why smaller ones shouldn't also be ok. Here's a link to one: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...320W4Y6ZCPDBWM