Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rear Tilt - What am I Doing Wrong?

Rear Tilt - What am I Doing Wrong?

I'm still new to LF photography (just shy of 6 months in) and I've become decently familiar with most the movements my camera is capable of, but still haven't really tried out tilting the rear standard. From what I understand, rear tilt distorts the image on the groundglass which can be used to enlarge/reduce elements in the foreground/background, but I can't seem to get it to work. The (in this case foreground) object stays the same size.

I'll compose the image, focus on the foreground object, tilt the rear standard back, and then refocus. I can't see a difference. My groundglass has a grid so I can directly compare the size of the object before and after the tilt. If the object takes up a 5x3 area on the grid before the tilt, it takes up the same area after the tilt as well.

I'm sure the problem is with my technique and not elsewhere. But, unlike with front standard tilt, I can't seem to find any good tutorials online/in books/etc. describing the steps of the process.

Re: Rear Tilt - What am I Doing Wrong?

The best place to see the effect of rear movements is on rectangular things such as buildings. Take your camera out and aim it upwards to include a building's top. Then tilt the back so that the building is not smaller at the top. This will happen when the back is vertical like the building front. This will be very clear as you tilt the back because you are especially sensitive to things being nice and neatly square and parallel. Then tilt the front of the camera so that it is also vertical, and this will bring the top and bottom of the building into focus. That's the basic move. Same for sideways, looking sideways at something.