Thread: Using enlarger lenses as barrel lenses

4x5 Camera Toting Tourist Nitish Kanabar's Avatar

Using enlarger lenses as barrel lenses

I am a total beginner to large-format photography and the members here are very helpful so please bear with what could be a silly question.

I have a speed-graphic with a working focal-plane shutter and was considering the use of an enlarger lens as a barrel lens for this camera. I read a thread here regarding mounting an enlarger lens on a copal #O shutter, so apparently an enlarger lens could be used as a regular lens.

What concerns arise when an enlarger lens is used as a camera lens? Should it even be done?

Thank you in advance for your replies.
    Nitish Kanabar

Old question.

Short answer, it is physically possible but none of the enlarger lenses I've tried out on my Speed has been much good (= has been lousy) at distance. Closeup work at magnifications no higher than 1:1 is another matter. That's pretty much what they were designed to do.

If want an inexpensive useful lens in barrel, to use on your Speed look for a process lens. I have a small pile of them, none of the ones I've used has disappointed. To learn more about process lenses, use the forum's search function.

Good luck, have fun,

Dan

Without knowing what lens you had in mind, I would say try it, your only loss is a few sheets of film. I would try making a big enlargment and see what you think of the results. I on ocassion use a 300mm rodogon as a taking lens with out any loss of quality or sleep, but I am strictly contact printing, so not too much to loose.
    Give it a try!