Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 4"x5" black and white negative to 5'x7' print?

4"x5" black and white negative to 5'x7' print?

Hello follow forum-ers This is my first post.

Question: what resolution and size would you recommend scanning a 4 inch by 5 inch black and white negative to be printed as a 5 by 7 foot print? I have made over sized enlargements before, but this is double the size that I have ever done from the negatives in this collection. I am using an offsite printer for this job and they are out of town so I really need to be able to download the scan to them, but the max size they allow is only 16mb jpeg. Is it possible to fit a great HR image within that size file?

BTW I am not a professional at this although I have been printing from our archival collection for many years and am just now getting more and more requests for really really BIG images. I use an Epson Expression 11000XL scanner with the Epson Scan software in the professional mode, if this is helpful to answer my question.

Thank you in advance for any input on the project,
    Creekhollowgirl
    Smith County Historical Society, archives

Re: 4"x5" black and white negative to 5'x7' print?