Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Darkroom Plans Available ?

Darkroom Plans Available ?

I am having some work done in my basement, and this may be the perfect time to put in a modest darkroom.

I know that everyone has their own ideas, but are there plans or sketches available in the public domain, so that I might compare options and discuss with the carpenter + plumber ?

Thanks in advance.

I have a small basement darkroom. I had to design mine around the layout of the basement. Two things that dictated the layout were the drain in the floor and one place where I could achieve the most clearance for my enlarger. Because of this the classic dry/wet side division of the space did not work for me.

I don't if plans are available.

Jim Ewins

Your local library probably has books on the subject. Many general books on photography will have plans and Kodak has a book just on the subject. I'm a retired architectural designer and General Contractor, but may give you some ideas if you wish. Better to communicate directly rather than on this forum, so email me.

Photographer

There are a number of books, but the key things to keep in mind (other than making the space truly dark) is the plumbing and electrical connections. In terms of space, you can get by with suprisingly little counter space if you have good sink space. It's always better to overbuild--in this case give yourself more floor space than you think you need as you'll fill it up eventually.
    Keith Pitman

You can never have too many electical outlets. I used two 6 foot power strips and a separate circuit/outlet for the enlarger. GFI's are a must.