Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Correcting for film reciprocity failure, X-Ray Film results?

Correcting for film reciprocity failure, X-Ray Film results?

I have not noticed anything here concerning X-Ray film reciprocity failure, and I post this here as techniques should be universal.

I am new at this and never used it, but last night I shot four 8X10 Ektascan X-Ray of Plastica using a single panel 3400K LED 'video' light at full power, which is bright. At 5 feet with gold reflector opposite my meter read, at nose ISO 80 1/8 f8.0. I needed a 2.3 bellows factor and shot the 4 images below. I didn't mark for order of exposure. Oops.

Exposure times and f stops are not in order.

2 seconds f9
    8 seconds f16
    32 seconds f32
    8 minutes f90

All images as scanned in Vuescan, no corrections or PS except re-size for LFPF 750 pixel posterity.

I realize my technique is poor and found the below link.

http://home.earthlink.net/~kitathome...eciprocity.htm

#1 Has anybody made reciprocity tables for X-Ray? Where are they?
    #2 Any advice on how to do this with better techniques without going insane. Oops too late there.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1-2015-12-22-0002.jpg 
Views:	32 
Size:	123.7 KB 
ID:	143873Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2-2015-12-22-0003.jpg 
Views:	30 
Size:	107.0 KB 
ID:	143874Click image for larger version. 

Name:	3-2015-12-22-0004.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	117.3 KB 
ID:	143875Click image for larger version. 

Name:	4-2015-12-22-0005.jpg 
Views:	28 
Size:	106.3 KB 
ID:	143876
    Tin Can

Re: Correcting for film reciprocity failure, X-Ray Film results?

Talking to myself, what I see, is this film has no reciprocity failure to 30 minutes, under that lighting source, which is known to not be full spectrum.

I will be duplicating as much as possible under flash next week.

Or am I looking at this wrong, all exposures were nearly the same and time is not the issue in this set of negs.