Thread: Orbit (Calumet) 4x5

Orbit (Calumet) 4x5

I hate second guessing myself...

I just bought a 4x5 Orbit (calumet) camera off ebay. Haven't received it yet, but it was being sold without a lensboard or lens. A lens I can find without a problem, but I'm searching for something that tells me the proper size lensboard for this camera. I'm brand new to large format (this is my first purchase...yikes!) and still trying to feel my way around. Any suggestions on where I can find a lensboard, or even what size it should be, would be most appreciated.

Orbit (Calumet) 4x5

Hi Paul:
    My Toyo was unbelievable cheap,no ground glass no lens board,I bought a brand new ground glass for it,but the lens board is exactlly a piece of wood.......no light leaking,no cockroach inside,no nice looking,my girl friend said the wood lensboard looks like been dig from rubbish bin,but I don't care.

Orbit (Calumet) 4x5

Is this the round rail camera like the Calumet CC400 series? If it is lensboards are simple to make. Can be bought new from Calumet. Or can be bought used easily enough. 4"x4" IIRC. I wonder if the link will work.

http://www.calumetphoto.com/ctl?PAGE=Controller&ac.ui.pn=common.ShowParent&spName=CALUMET400

Orbit (Calumet) 4x5

Link doesn't work of course. Type 400 lensboard into Calumet's search function.

Orbit (Calumet) 4x5

Most lensboards can be fashioned from huble materials, Masonite is my favorite as it takes paint very well. If push comes to shove send me the dimentions you need and I'll make you one.

Cheers,

Orbit (Calumet) 4x5