Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Studio exposure/development test for black and white film illuminated with strobes

Studio exposure/development test for black and white film illuminated with strobes

I've been concentrating lately on studio work with strobes. At first, I tried the old "just do it" method, but I wanted to get a little more systematic. I'm not an expert, but I've been exposing and developing film for a long time, and so hopefully I'm not too off base. If I am, please correct me!

We all know that exposure predominately effects the darker areas of the scene, whereas development mainly effects the brighter areas. In landscape photography, you can use a spot meter to place detailed shadows on Zone III, which should lead to bright areas falling on Zone VIII for a normal scene, and you use the exposure and development that'll give you the appropriate film densities for your intended use. If you have a non-normal scene, you adjust exposure and development to compensate. (You don't _have_ to have the bright areas fall on Zone VIII. You can adjust exposure and development to give the overall look that you're after. I regularly let the bright areas fall higher than Zone VIII. Many current films have a very straight line response to more exposure.)

If I had a spot meter that worked with flash, I'd be all set, as I could do the same thing I do for a landscape with a subject in the studio. But I don't have one. I only have incident flash meters.

So the procedure for landscapes with incident meters is to meter sun and shade to find the subject illumination range. You then set the meter to twice the film speed and take a shade reading. That's the exposure, and then you develop according what's indicated by your subject illumination range. (This incident stuff is all Phil Davis Beyond the Zone System.)(See Ken Lee's excellent "The Myth of the 18% Gray Card" at: http://www.kenleegallery.com/html/tech/index.php)