Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Determining N-2, N-1, N, N+1... etc. development

Determining N-2, N-1, N, N+1... etc. development

I'm very new to processing my own 4x5 TMAX100, but have been reading and learning alot. I understand what N-1, N-2, N, N+1, and N+2 mean, but I don't understand how to determine how to carry out these developments. I know that you can change your development times, or you can change the dilution of your developer and the agitation cycles. If I want to move a highlight from zone VIII down to zone VII while retaining detail in shadow at zone III I would want to use an N-1 development. But I don't understand excaclty how to do this. I'm shooting TMAX100 and processing 4x5 sheets in tanks with hangers, and using TMAX RS diluted 1:4 for normal development.

Brian,

I think your best (and simplest) written resource on this would be Fred Picker's "Zone VI Workshop" which you can get for little on Ebay (even try Amazon's marketplace). The testing procedures are (I think) written in simple terms. And it is the testing that you will have to do in order to get your N-1 or N+2 or whichever.

I can't think of a fixed advise on this, as it will depend on many factors. I always believed in my own testing, because that's the only way to ensure that processing procedures are followed to the letter every time (outside of times when one forgets a step or two). This is of course, if one does indeed believe in testing to begin with.
    Witold
    simplest solutions are usually the most difficult ...

Dave Karp

Brian,

There is a discussion of a simple way to determine film speed and development times in Steve Simmons's Using the View Camera. Another good reference for practical Zone System testing is Graves's The Zone System for 35mm Photographers. Don't let the title fool you. There is plenty of information in that book for people who use cameras of all formats. He gives you a good system for arriving at your film speed and development times.