Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Epson F-3200 film scanner

Epson F-3200 film scanner

I want a dedicated film scanner for formats to 4x5, and the new Epson F-3200 is in my price category at £599 in UK, but I don't know of anyone who's used it.

Maybe it's not in the Hasselblad/Imacon league but I'd want it to be clearly better than a flat bed.

Does anyone know it first hand or has heard how it does?

From what I read here I'd start looking somewhere else...or just buy a flatbed.

http://www.photo-i.co.uk/Reviews/interactive/Scanners/Epson_F3200/page-1.htm

Alan

I have no experience with the F3200, but give due consideration to the Canoscan 9950F. Its simply outstanding ! Initially I was disappointed that the colors were not coming out right and the scans were a little dull. Incidentally this also happens to be the concern raised by some users on the web.

The trick lies in turning off all auto settings and scanning WITHOUT a specified target space and then later assigning the supplied Canoscan transaparency profile in Photoshop. Voila ! The image magically springs to life !

Initially I was torn between the 4870 and the 9950F, but what clinched the deal was an image posted on the photo-i website which showed similar scans from both scanners brightened to the max. The highlights were obviously blown but the shadow revealed some hidden secrets about the Epson. There was much more noise in there. The Canon produced cleaner scans.

That along with the fact that there is a sharp asphereical lens in the Canon (Canon obviously knows a thing or two about making lenses), and Canon being leader in digital imaging made me get the Canon.