Thread: Cold Light Head for Beseler 45 MCRX

Cold Light Head for Beseler 45 MCRX

I am shopping around for a cold head for this enlarger. Are there any tips on what I should look for, especially, if buying used? Is this head the same as one which fits a D2 enlarger? I see many on EBAY that seemed to be designed for that enlarger. Any comments or caveats appreciated.

I live in Seattle and I saw a used zone VI cold light for $ 130.00 at glazers camera store. don't know condition just saw it there. said it was for 4x5 bessler.

Thanks for the tip. I just sent him an email about it....

I have some experience with cold light on a Besler. The older Arista round model required a collar to seat it on the chasis. Mine is from the late seventies adapted with a Zone VI stabilizer/dry down thing. It works relatively well there is still some very slight drift of the light intensity. I believe the later ones made by Zone VI with the stabilizer thing built in work best. I did alot of great work with mine, had many shows and prints for a couple of books.

I actually now prefer a Color head, which with a diffuser gives a very similar quality of light. The advantage to it is the ability to do split filtering (which I am big on) with multi-contrast papers easily. There are now some modern cold lights (newer Aristas) that have two tubes and are specifically designed for split filtering.

Email me directly-I may be interested in getting rid of my Arista as I am heavily invested right now in inkjet actually.
    Thanks,
    Kirk

at age 73:
    "The woods are lovely, dark and deep,
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep"