Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Would appreciate help with choosing a higher end printer.

Rio Oso shooter

Would appreciate help with choosing a higher end printer.

I am just starting to head down the wormhole of printing high quality images at home. I have been using an Epson 3880 printer at a college class that I am taking and I find the images incredible good. However, I have heard really bad things about the Epson 3880 and 4900. I have been eyeing the Epson 7890 and 7900 but since they are a little higher end there are naturally not a lot of reviews on them. I understand that getting a printer is a big commitment in time and money. Things like flushing the system out, general cleaning maintenance, bigger ink cartridges........ I was foremost looking at reliability. My total ouput is not going to be huge but I am to the point that I want high end quality output. I am not stuck on these models or any particular manufacturer but since I have had some experience with Epson I would like equal or better quality output.

Any help would be appreciated. I know this is a huge topic but I would like to at least investigate it.

Thanks,
    Richard

Abuser of God's Sunlight

Re: Would appreciate help with choosing a higher end printer.

I'm surprised you've heard bad things about the 3880. I've had a couple that developed problems, but with the pro epsons, you get great tech support and warranty service. They'll ship you a new printer for free and let you send the old one back in the new box. So far the 3880 is the only printer I've had that lets me use more ink printing than clearing clogs. And I'm very hard on printers ... I let them sit for weeks or months between projects, which is really terrible for them.

I would not even consider one of the larger format current generation printers unless you'll be using it constantly.

Quote Originally Posted by paulr View Post