Thread: New Photography Project and Newbie to LF Photography

New Photography Project and Newbie to LF Photography

Howdy friends.

I just posted in the introductions a bit about myself. Well, I have a photo project that I am embarking on and I'd like some advice. Below are some shots that are similar to what I will be doing. Essentially, nicely composed architecture along with a silhouette of someone in the foreground that is out of focus.

I am new to movements and would like some ideas on how to shoot some of these scenes better. I understand that "better" is a value judgement and can be subjective. Where I would start is by removing the converging lines using shift. But any ideas on what you guys would like to do with it would be food for thought for me.

These I shot with a Pentax 67 & 165mm lens. To shoot in a similar fashion in LF, I am going with a 4x5 and 250mm lens.

Re: New Photography Project and Newbie to LF Photography

Rather than a tutorial on camera movements (more in a moment), I'm unsure whether a view camera is the right tool for your project. To eliminate the converging lines ("key-stoning" because the film plane is not parallel to the buildings since you are pointing the camera upwards) you don't use shift, you tilt the camera back so that the film plane is vertical, just like the buildings are. But that is very hard to do hand held, you need the camera on a tripod, and based on the two images you posted, that may not work for your project ( a tripod in the sidewalk in midtown Manhattan may be a problem). OTOH, you could set up in advance with the tripod and camera back vertical, and then wait until someone walks past you into the correct spot, predetermined, at which point you trip the shutter. My main point is that a camera is a tool, and while a view camera is designed to let you eliminate the converging lines, it may not be the best tool for your specific project.