Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for help with digital printing!!!

Looking for help with digital printing!!!

I have very little knowledge about the digital world. I am primarily a color darkroom guy. However, I believe it will be easier to print sample portfolios digitally. Here is my plan.

First, I scan in an 8x10 master print. I have a master print for each composition. I use the master print to insure consistency for the prints I sell, the images on my website, and the portfolios I send out. I then intend to Photoshop the image so that it looks as close as possible to the master print. I will be printing the images on 8.5x11" paper. The images sizes I intend to print are 4x10, 6x7.5, and 6x8.4 which corresponds to my 4x10, 4x5, and 5x7 format cameras. When I tried this what came out on paper and what was on my screen was not the same. So I need some help on how to make this easier.

The tools I have are a HP Scanjet 5500c, MAC G4 with Mac OS X 10.3.7, Photoshop CS Version 8.0, the old 17" MAC studio video screen that can self calibrate, HP Business Inkjet 1100 printer, and HP Premium Plus 8.5x11" Glossy paper.

I have budgeted around $300 for any calibration tools I may need.

So what do I do next? Any help would dearly be appreciated. My hope is to keep my learning curve as short and fast as possible.

Thanks,

Hello Stephen: Can you clarify one thing?

"When I tried this what came out on paper and what was on my screen was not the same. So I need some help on how to make this easier"

Do you mean to say the color wasn't the same? Or, did you mean the sizes didn't work out correctly?

That'll help with suggestions.
    "I meant what I said, not what you heard"--Jflavell

Hi John,

I got the sizes right, but the colors, contrast, and brightness were off. I noticed on my printer's dialog box if I
    reduced the ink density, the print got closer to what was on my screen. I also just noticed that the printer dialog box had other