Thread: Advice or direction on making digital Negs

Between the Ground Glass or somewhere in the dim room.

Advice or direction on making digital Negs

Hello all!

I have a few questions with regard to Digital negatives for beginners(that would be me.)

Since they do not teach Pt/Pd at the college I'm at I'm having to get a bit creative with regard to the negative item. With that regard I had decided to go with digital negatives since I do not own anything larger than a 4x5 (wonderful little Linhof) and I'm just getting into the chemistry aspect of Pt/Pd.

With regard to making 4x5's I tend to meter then shift my shadows down into Zone III (only been using the zone system since spring quarter several months ago at school). I find it interesting, but tough at the same time. I am using HP5 for the film and D76 for the developer. This works great for the dark room, however, A friend of mine in passing told me that I should consider making digital negatives so I can contact print into larger sizes for my grad show (Still quite a ways off).

With that regard i'm trying to figure out the correct way to make digital negatives on the Pictorico (after figuring out the type of printer (omg at the price) I'm going to have to purchase a printer for home since the school doesn't have one that takes 16x20 sheets) and make them viable for Pt/Pd printing. I know that it can be done, but I'm hoping it isn't another extremely complicated Photoshop item at the same time. (photoshop has been my bane in all of my digital classes)

In anycase. Thank you very much for any advice on this matter.

V/r,
    Doogie

Re: Advice or direction on making digital Negs

Buy this book, follow the step by step directions (it does require photoshop but it's quite easy) and you will get great Pt prints: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/096...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

This tutorial got me up and running for cyanotypes and carbon printing: http://www.freestylephoto.biz/altern...ital-negatives