Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: A question on making ground glass...

Stuck inside of Tucson with the Neverland Blues again...

A question on making ground glass...

I've been doing my homework getting ready to make a ground glass or two, and have a question. It's popular for people to use a smaller square of glass to grind the ground glass, using aluminum oxide as the grinding compound. But I was curious... if one used a 5x7 piece of glass to grind another piece of 5x7 glass, would one end up with two serviceable 5x7 ground glasses? Enquiring (and lazy) minds want to know...
    "I love my Verito lens, but I always have to sharpen everything in Photoshop..."

Re: A question on making ground glass...

I am no expert, but I think you could end up with two 5x7 screens.
    All you have to do is maintain perfect, constant and even pressure on the entire surface of both screens...all the time.
    You will get one good screen and one almost-done screen; you can just go back and grind the missing areas of the second screen, which should take much less time.

Logic says yes.

Quote Originally Posted by Andrew O'Neill View Post
    Logic says yes.
    "In theory, practice and theory are the same thing. In practice, they aren't."

~ Yogi Berra
    "I love my Verito lens, but I always have to sharpen everything in Photoshop..."

Not so easy to get a good grip and side to side and downward push on a flat piece of glass, without gripping the edges and cutting yourself. A glass puck or in my case a juice glass with a heavy bottom fashionable 29 years ago worked well as a dedicated tool. No matter if the bottom of the glass isn't flat or smooth it soon will be.

Good point. I may need to attach a handle with removable silicon or something.

And I expect Ari's right, one screen (or both) may need a little touch-up. Or it may be best using a 4x5 to polish a 5x7 or 8x10. It will be an experimental process...