Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Field Camera - Which Movements Would You Consider ESSENTIAL

Field Camera - Which Movements Would You Consider ESSENTIAL

Hello,

I'm new to LPP though I have visited many, many times while searching for answers/opinions regarding various topics.

I am currently almost done building my first large format camera - a 4x5 folding field - sort of a blend between a Chamonix, Shen-Hao PTB and my own bizzarre ideations...

Anyway, based upon the knowlege and experience I have gained throughout the build, I can't help thinking about the NEXT one!

I'm pondering a 5x7 next, another folder, but this time with asymmetrical movements and a few other improvements over my previous design.

My question is this:

For landscape photography, which movements would you consider essential? Put another way - which movements could you not live without? For my current build, I left out rear rise/fall, rear center tilt and rear shift (it has base tilt and swing in back, front will have all these). I took these movements out of my design - reasoning that I didn't want to make my first build too complex. So for the second time around I'm debating whether I should go all out and build a camera that does everything or keep it more or less the same with a limited set of functions.

I realize that a lot of this comes down to personal style/preference/skill/practice/etc. but I'm interested to hear what others think. If you have a wonder-cam that allows the bellows to be tied into knots or can collapse until the lens breaks through the ground glass, do you USE that movement frequently? If that knob suddenly broke off or stopped working, would you be crippled without it?

Thanks for any input!

Re: Field Camera - Which Movements Would You Consider ESSENTIAL