Thread: introduction

Smile introduction

Hi everyone!

I'm quite new to photography, and I always wonder how other people started out. For instance: I started with photography because I wanted to document my backpack holiday as best as I could. At first I had the ambition to make a video and photos of the trip, but soon I came to realize that my travel companion didn't like being filmed nor being photographed (besides from the obvious "her posing in front of a building" photos). She also didn't have much patience. So that didn't work as well as I thought it would but I did learn a lot in the mean time.

Now recently I joined a photography group of students, and started with studio photography, which is also interesting. I don't photograph as much as I want to. What I want with my photography is to show how amazing the world is. That means that my photography would be mostly travel related. With my photography I hope to inspire other people to see the beauty in life and to be positive, in part by showing the beauty of imperfection. What do you think of this? And what do you want to achieve with your photographs?

I'm not very good at capturing people and I find it hard to make a photograph that matches the cliché at the moment and I don't have a LF camera, which I guess is fine for now. I do understand a lot of the technical parts of photography, but not to the point that I can for instance immediately see which camera can fit what lens with regard to movements and vignetting.

But how did you start out? How did you decide to invest that much money into a LF camera? What are your reasons to photograph (as a hobby)? And how did you progressed (how much time is needed)?

And what if I would say that "there is nothing to photograph where I come from" (The Netherlands), how would you respond. Because Holland is very flat...

Re: introduction