Thread: Forgetting my craft!

Forgetting my craft!

From 1986 to 2000 I was a studio photographer using LF most days to shot products, food, room sets and the like. I took pride at being good at my craft, I was organised, methodical, had the correct equipment, a clean studio, all the things that helped produced great images on budget for happy clients. Since 2000 most of my photography has been location based using my ever increasing array of digital Canon EOS gear.
    Today I revisited studio photography using my old MPP 5x4 (British Linhof copy) and my goodness I had forgotten how to do it! I was all over the place....forgetting to use movements, not checking the ASA on the light meter, not having my film loaded once I was ready to shot, forgetting to check focus, a litany of errors and mistakes. All those things I used to do making me good at my craft.
    I guess digital and photoshop has changed my skill set but I don't think it's made me better at my craft!
    'Life is tough, but its tougher when you're stupid' John Wayne

Re: Forgetting my craft!

Don't worry, it will all come back. It is like riding a bike -- one never forgets how to fall off.
    "Landscapes exist in the material world yet soar in the realms of the spirit..." Tsung Ping, 5th Century China

I don't know how old you are, but they say that Memory is the second thing to go...!
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)

Digital not only killed the craft, it killed the business too !

Would you expect a pianist who hadn't played since 2000 to be able to walk on stage and give a concert? If you don't use it, you lose it. I notice a decline after a few weeks of not shooting. Sometimes I'll take the camera out just to practice.

At any rate, a bit of time back at it and things will come back quickly, no worries.

Best,

Doremus