Thread: What kind of Gundlach?

What kind of Gundlach?

Hello All,

I'm new to this....

I have a Gundlach 8x10 with no other model name on it. (No plate below the lens area.)

The information on the lens is "Gundlach Manufacturing Corp. Fairport KY 8x10 Turner-Reich Anast F: 7.0 SER II 207946"

Does the fact that there's no model name, mean that it's early?

Can anyone suggest a circa and value?

I also have three of the "film frames" (excuse my ignorance of proper terminology)

THNX,
    Denis

What kind of Gundlach?

The Turner-Reich was an elaborate convertible lens consisting of five pieces of glass all cemented together in each cell. "Convertible" means that you can screw out the front cell and use the rear one by itself. This then provides a much longer focal length, but is also much slower. Your shutter or barrel probably has more than one set of aperture markings because of this. If there are three, this means that instead of the rear cell, you could take the front cell off and put it on the rear giving still a third focal length, longer still.

The major weakness of the T-R was separation, which shows up as a kind of grainy ring around the edge of the glass.

It is early. For value, go to e|Bay and search completed items for Turner-Reich.

What kind of Gundlach?

Hey there,
    Gundlachs most popular camera model was probably the KORONA. As far as lenses go, the Turner Reich was among their best, although QC was difficult because of centration issues with five elements in each cell. Gundlach was one of the old Rochester firms that are very confusing to follow, as the founders sold, then started new companies...etc.
    Turner Reichs can be pretty decent though. As far as the camera goes, if it's light tight....go for it.