Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What has gone wrong here??

What has gone wrong here??

What looks like dust particles all over the negative, however I've no idea what it is, can someone tell me.

So I decided to do some pictures using the Imagon 300mm, on HP5, Sinar shutter, that is not likely to be where the problem exists, but i'm no expert. The lens glass is clean as a whistle. The film has been kept in the freezer and is a year off its expiry date. Development: Rodinal 1:100, stand development, no agitation, 40 min. The stopper is nearly finished, about 12 months old, the fixer is only recently opened.

To run a finger over the emulsion side of the neg I can feel slight roughness caused by whatever those marks are, but they are not solid or can they be removed, it's like they are imperfections in the film but this is the first time I've had the problem so I sought of excluded the film, but who knows.

I suspect the development is where the problem lies, it has happened twice now, the second time I took extra care with handling the negative from one solution to the next, but no different.

Over to you good folks for some suggestions.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Lamp and glass - Imagon050.jpg 
Views:	236 
Size:	50.2 KB 
ID:	120569

Re: What has gone wrong here??

OMG! Sorry it happened to you.

To me it appears to be a hugely defective emulsion. Sacrifice the next sheet in the box and look at it under 8 to 10x magnification. Is there stuff stuck to the film? Is the emulsion full of irregular holes?

Did you let the film defrost before loading it?

Holy S*** ! I don't think I've ever seen anything like this !

Things to check in no particular order are -
    - Was the film bought fresh or "second hand " ?

- As Jac said, sacrifice a sheet or two develop one examine the other.
    Does an unexposed , undeveloped sheet have the same rough feel ?

- check your developing chemicals, are the solutions clear without any particulate matter