Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Scanning large format with vuescan

Abuser of God's Sunlight

Scanning large format with vuescan

I'm wondering if anyone has experience scanning 4x5 negs with vuescan, specifically with an epson 4870.
    I'm new to both, and am trying to cut the learning curve down to size.
    My project is for a book that will be printed with piezography. The enlargements will be small (up to 3X). I'm tryingto get the highest quality possible.

First question is about multiple pass scanning. Is more than one pass a good idea with this scanner? Not sure if the possible noise reduction is worth the possible misalignment and blurring.

Second question is about digital ice dust removal. I've read in other forums that people were having trouble getting ice to work properly with vuescan. not sure what version they were running though. Any thoughts?

Finally, for BW work, how do you like vuescan compared with epson scan?

Thanks for any help ... any other ideas you can throw my way.

Paul

Jim Ewins

I consider vuescan an expensive lesson. But then again I continue to do dumb things. Jim

Paul, multiple passes don't work too well on a budget scanner as the head has to go back to the exact same spot each time. More exact scanners use multiple sampling to achieve the same end. Its easy to test, do a scan with and without multiplepassing and see if it is softer by comparing the scans 'at pixel' view.
    Vuescan is the best way IMO of getting BW scans. Scan at 'image' 16bit and you get a neg in PS which has had no messing with by the scanner software. make sure you use Vuescan in Advanced mode and set both the blackpoint and whitepoint to '0' so that the histo is unclipped - the default is an 'idiot' mode that gives you clipped black. Don't forget to set the colourspaces away from sRGB too