Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Very dark ground glass, is this normal?

Very dark ground glass, is this normal?

Please forgive me for the total newbie question, but I am using a 4x5 for the first time this week. A friend has loaned me a Sinar F for a few weeks and I'm very surprised by how dark the ground glass is. I'm actually wondering if there is something wrong, because even under the dark cloth or with the bino attachment, it's really hard to see well enough to compose properly. There is a lot of fall off toward the corners as well, so it's very hard to see the edges of the shot. The only way I can see the edges is to look at the ground glass from about a 45 degree angle. I'm using a 90/6.8 wide open in my apartment which has wall to wall south facing windows with quite a bit of light, even when it's grey and raining like today. It's better with the 210/5.6, but still quite dark.

I can't imagine trying to use this in some of the dimly lit interiors that I have photographed with my digital-SLR. Is this normal and something you just have to get used to?

Cheers,

Andrew

The short version is, "Yes, that's normal." ;-)

Although some GGs are brighter than others, and it's worse with wide-angle lenses, they all tend to be far darker than SLR users are accustomed to. Dim interiors and such usually require a supplemental focusing light of some sort.

Octogenarian

Hi Andrew,

Sounds normal to me. Your lenses have maximum aperatures of f6.8 and 5.6. Not really fast lenses for smaller formats, but average for LF. Aim them out the window and compose in the sunlight. See if you can detect a difference. A brightening screen for the ground glass may improve the situation, but even then, it probably will not be as bright as your digital SLR. It's something that you need to get used to when you use LF cameras with ground glass focusing screens. It just takes time and practice.

Eric Woodbury