Thread: Pyrocat - how many 8x10 sheets per batch?

Pyrocat - how many 8x10 sheets per batch?

I just started shooting 8x10. In my trial darkroom runs, I can handle 4-8 sheets of 8x10 film in one liter of pyrocat HD in 10x12" trays. How many rounds can I use the pyrocat before mixing a new batch? If the developer can be reused for a second round, should I do my N+ negs first and then do the N- negs in the second round? Or is the developer good for a fixed number of 8x10 sheets (ie. good for a given surface area of film) regardless of how many rounds of development I do with a given batch of developer? I don't plan on changing from pyrocat, but does the answer to my question vary with different pyro formulations--specifically ABC pyro?

Regarding my materials and intentions, my trials have been with HP5+. I just bought a batch of Efke PL100 which will likely be my primary film. I will likely use JandC 400 instead of HP5 as a higher speed film. I will develop multiple sheets in trays at 2:2:100 for contact printing on Azo.

If I have missed the thread with the answer, please pardon the repeat question and just supply me the link. I don't mean to waste anyone's time. I simply haven't found the answer on this forum or Michael and Paula's Azo forum. Many thanks in advance.

Limit it to four 8 x 10 sheets/liter at the 1:1:50 concentration and you can't go wrong. Since the film costs me > $3.00/sheet, why quibble over pennies?

I'm not trying to skimp at all. To the contrary, I've been mixing a new batch of developer every 4-8 sheets, depending how many I have at hand to develop, because I don't want to compromise. If , however, someone said I could develop 50 sheets of film in one liter, why would I want to dump all that good developer into the sewer system?

Pyrocat-HD was designed to be used as a one-shot developer, using a minimum of about 100 ml of developer per 4X5" sheet of film, or about 400 ml for a sheet of 8X10" film.