Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: "Machine-gunning"?

"Machine-gunning"?

Hi Folks,

I've been using a LF camera for around 18 months and am still learning lots. This will probably go on for some time I guess!

Anyway, previously with digital equipment I was never a "machine gunner" - I waited for the light to be what I thought I wanted etc. But, I've just been away for 4 days in the northwest Scottish Highlands (not really that remote - 1 hour flight from home, 3 hr drive) and over those four days took 12 images on sheet film. The thing is I am sure that not all 12 of these will come out technically perfect nor exactly what I envisaged (still learning after all) and so won't necessarily be 12 "keepers". Does that still make me a "machine gunner"? I guess I'm just after re-assurance!

Here's the sort of image I took (a minute or so after pressing the shutter from a different perspective so only one mountain in the background and taken on my phone so please don't judge the quality!!):

https://flic.kr/p/ocLqD5

Cheers

Graham

Re: "Machine-gunning"?

Richard Avedon took 17000 exposures on 8x10 film, and ended up with approximately 140 prints for his show. In the American West. So I think you can be assured you are not a machine gunner.

El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles de Porciúncula

Only 12 sheets in 4 days -- you're not shooting enough, perhaps.

Regarding the sample image -- nice; very nice!

Stop worrying and have fun.

Well I don't process the images at home - 17,000 would be one hell of a processing bill!

If I'm shooting a subject I like, and it took some effort to get to it, I'll take several exposures, because sh*t happens.

These usually involve different speed/aperture combinations to change DoF, and over/under bracketing (usually over).
    I also love to play with filters, to see what effects I can achieve.