Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Gandolfi 4x5 Variant

Gandolfi 4x5 Variant

Hi,

I'm thinking about buying a Variant as my first LF and would very much like to hear the opinions of those who use this camera. There are 2 models available to me that are almost new--a Level Ia, with 485mm bellows, or a Level III. While I have seen the difference in the specs of the two, since I am new to the medium, I would benefit from an explanation that a college photo major can understand. Thanks!

Cindy

Gandolfi 4x5 Variant

Cindy:

I have seen Variants, but I don't use one. They are lovely cameras and it may be the right camera for you. But I would offer a general word for someone selecting their first camera. Choose something moderately priced with balanced specs that is easy to sell. It probably won't be your last camera.

For example, bellows length is a spec that many people obsess over. If you know you are going to shoot a Nikon or Fuji 450mm lens, then 485mm of bellows is wonderful. But if you start with a 150-210mm lens, and discover that your own vision gravitates towards wide views, those bellows may make life with a 75mm lens difficult. And believe me, making sharp images with almost 500mm of bellows in the wind is difficult, requiring significant investment in a tripod, head and usually some ancilary support for the camera.

To get the best advice from this forum, it would help to know what type of photography you envision. For example, most people use far less tilts and swings than even field cameras with modest specs allow. But if interior architecture is your thing, then extreme wide angle use with movements requires a particular set of specs.

Gandolfi 4x5 Variant

Cindy, if I were to win the lotto tomorrow, this is the camera I would buy.

Gandolfi 4x5 Variant

Cindy:

Everything Dan says is absolutely true.

But I think you need to translate these spec based statements into real shooting scenarios "that a college photo major can understand".