Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How do you (politely) keep people away when you compose?

How do you (politely) keep people away when you compose?

Being a deep woods landscaper, I'd estimate that 99.9% of my shots had no one around to bother me, so I have very little experience keeping curious, but well-meaning people from distracting me.

Maybe you work around more people than I do – if so, what tips can you share?

To narrow the scope, I mean tips that deal with pedestrians and bystanders who really don't mean to get in the way, but whose curiosity overcomes their better judgment, and distracts you from the shot that needs your concentration.

I can imagine a few common sense tips, and would like to hear more. For example, "Go when they're not there." I've enjoyed popular Yellowstone Nat'l Park attractions all to myself during peak summer season – that is, when I arrive at 6:00 a.m. and stop shooting by 8:30 a.m. I'm certain additional tips like that have never occurred to me, so I'd like to hear about your experiences.

I suppose body language can also help. One example – not initiating a greeting when people come near (that is, pretending you don't even know they're there). In other words, making yourself look busy and in little need of disturbance. And even if someone still approaches you with an overly friendly "Hello," then delaying a friendly response for a few seconds just might communicate that you're friendly too, but a little too busy for any sociable interaction.

I've never used stage props to discourage interaction, but I've seen a recent post about yellow caution tape, plus others that swear by orange construction vests.

Do you have stories to share, and what are your best tips to keep friendly people at bay when you need to concentrate?

Re: How do you (politely) keep people away when you compose?

orange coveralls with a few random numbers on the back. NO ONE will bother you.