Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from the San Francisco Bay area

Hello from the San Francisco Bay area

Hello.

I have been taking pictures since I was about 6 years old, back in '76, starting with an Instamatic 100, moving to a 110 camera at 8 or so. About the same time, my father got a Pentax ME Super and I used that a lot as well, basically, any time he wasn't using it.

When I was 11, I found a Argoflex 75 in the attic, complete with a flash gun that took big flashbulbs. I started playing around with this, and loved the attention it got, especially when you would fire one of those big blue flashbulbs. I was impressed by the pictures it took as well, almost as good as my dad's SLR.

I used the Argoflex and my dad's SLR until I was 18 or so, when I purchased a Vivitar PS35 autofocus 35mm pocket camera, and stuck with that until I was 29, when I took a photography class. I dug out my dad's ME Super, but it needed work at that point, so I bought a Pentax Super A, which promptly failed. Then I used a friend's Olympus SLR for the class.

I enjoyed the photography class, I loved developing my own film and prints, and the instructor and art students thought I had a lot of talent. I was an engineering student, and am an engineer at heart, so I didn't speak the lingo, but still had a lot of fun listening to them describe what my photo's "meant"

When I got my first job as an engineer, in 2000, I bought the latest, but certainly not greatest, Pentax SLR, and had fun with that for a while, before digital became to seductive, and I switched to a Fuji Finepix 2800Z. I then bought a Panasonic FZ2, which I promptly destroyed in a fall, and replaced it with an FZ6. During this time with the digitals, I lost my passion for photography. I kept taking pictures mind you, but it was more of a means to record events, rather than as an artistic expression.