Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Absolute Newbie requiring some very basic help with B&W development

Arrow Absolute Newbie requiring some very basic help with B&W development

Hi,

First post and first time shooting 4x5 (Sinar F1). I've just made my first couple of attempts at developing and it's gone horribly wrong

I've never developed film before and am coming from a DSLR.

Basically, I attempted to develop four sheets of expired Ilford Delta 400 and I ended up with nothing, thought the film was screwed and then shot a brand new sheet of FP4 and got the same result. The 4 Delta 400 shots were basically bracketed by the way, so if I'm significantly off exposure-wise at any point in the development process there's a good chance I would have gotten something back anyway.

By nothing, I mean absolutely nothing! I ended up with a clear, pinkish sheet of plasticky stuff. Not a trace of anything left on it.

What's the most likely source of my error? I expected my first attempts to be out of focus, massively under/overdeveloped, scratched etc. but I wasn't prepared for this. Some more info:

1. The film came from two different holders so I don't think they're leaky - they look in good condition and anyway, if there's a leak, only part of the film would be screwed, right?
    2. I've checked the bellows/shutter/back for light leaks and they seem ok. I used this Sinar "automatic shutter closing mechanism when film back is inserted" (very technical term, I know ) each of the times and also checked the little red pin visually before taking out the darkslide.
    3. My metering mightn't be perfect as I'm using a combination of a digital P+S and a light meter app on my phone but surely I can't be this far off? I mean even at 4-5 stops off you'd still see something on the film, right?

I was very careful about the darkness of the room I was in. I don't think that was the source of the issues.

I kept my development process simple: