Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Graphic View II

Graphic View II

Hi everyone. Sorry to keep bugging you all with questions, I just want to make the right decision when it comes to buying my first 4x5 camera.

A few days ago I asked about the Crown Graphic. Thank you all for your feedback. As I have actually used a 4x5 camera extensively in a studio environment (3 years of a Bachelor degree), I'm thinking that perhaps the Crown maybe a little basic for my needs. While on that topic, I better clearly state my needs! I'm after a 4x5 camera that I can use mostly in the field, and perhaps a small amount of studio work. Landscapes are my main priority, with the intention to shoot 6x17 eventually. I read Kerry's article in View Camera Magazine, and think I would like to try the Shen-Hao 6x17 back. It appeals because of the price (I have a limited budget to set myself up) and I like the fact that it can be used with any 4x5 camera with a Grifloc back.

As a photographer, I fully understand the importance of a good lens. It seems as though the 90mm/F8 Schneider Super Angulon is the best choice for my price range at the wide end of the spectrum, and it will apparently also work well with the 6x17 back, as it has good coverage and is reasonably sharp towards the edges and has average light drop-off. I'm not sure how you go when it comes to finding filters for this lens yet, such as a pola, centre ND, etc. Still have to research that part. Can anyone help??

I have found a Graphic View II camera with a Grafloc back and the above mentioned lens for sale as a package, so it all seems to fit the bill. Does anyone know much about this camera? Such as the widest lens (non-6x17 use) it will take, availability of lens boards, can you remove the bellows for a wide angle bag bellows etc.? Also, it seems to come with a sort of tripod head that clamps onto the monorail. How is this head attached to a tripod??