Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making a small object look larger or opposite of minatures

Making a small object look larger or opposite of minatures

Im very new to 4x5 and I have scoured the net on how to make a small object like a toy car appear life size. I see plenty of stuff on the internet on how to make life size things look small but no much on the opposite. I know it deals with rear tilt. However I think my plane of focus and camera level is the missing part of the puzzle. If anyone can explain this to me without complicated math. I would appreciate it.

Re: Making a small object look larger or opposite of minatures

Two points are to get on a natural level to the object--on a car that would be with your lens about even with the top. The second is the more depth of field, the better. Then you need everything else you can see in the scene to be in scale, which means anything normal size has to be very far away. I assume you've seen this? http://petapixel.com/2013/10/14/life...ective-250-ps/

Perspective and depth of field are among the things that giv away a miniature.

One trick that I have seen used with model railroads is to use a mirror at 45 degrees. Place the mirror with its edge on the table and facing the subject, Tilt the top edge back to 45 deg. Now shoot straight down into the mirror to get that s5tanding -on-the-ground perspective. Old SX-70 polaroids have a nice little front surface mirror inside.

The DOF issue may sometimes be delt with using movements. The camera has to be horizontal and level (OK, so no mirror . . .right) and the composition should have a realistic foreground.

What is your subject?
    Drew Bedo
    www.quietlightphoto.com
    http://www.artsyhome.com/author/drew-bedo

There are only three types of mounting flanges; too big, too small and wrong thread!