Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: McAfee Site Warnings

McAfee Site Warnings

I am getting these dire warnings in Safari on my desktop from my ATT/McAffee Siteadvisor on every forum page as of about 4 PM. No other sites seem to be involved.

http://www.siteadvisor.com/restricte...3969e64c92c285

Sent from iPad.

Re: McAfee Site Warnings

I just got one as well in Firefox. Sent a request to review the rating.

Quote Originally Posted by ROL View Post
    I am getting these dire warnings in Safari on my desktop from my ATT/McAffee Siteadvisor on every forum page as of about 4 PM. No other sites seem to be involved.

http://www.siteadvisor.com/restricte...3969e64c92c285

Sent from iPad.
    I have a thought or two for you on McAfee.

First, in fairness, let me say that I am not an i person. I use no i products. Not that i have any negative opinions on the product.

I have been consulting and teching on PC products and software for over twenty years. Three products that I steer clients away from in security products. They are Norton, McAfee and Kapersky. That has been my position for some years now.

It's sad really, because for some time, I've made a lot of income from correcting the problems created by all three of those products. McAfee in particular is prone to distributing updates to their products that cause problems on user computers.

If I were you, I would look seriously at continued use of McAfee and replacement by another product. I do not find what you describe as any surprise considering my past experience with McAfee. Surely there are other options available for security. A classic situation with McAfee is to distribute an update that compromises the equipment is it supposed to protect, and then fix the problem within a few days to a couple of weeks. In a number of cased, I have resolved the client problem by removing the most recent update and telling the client to wait a week and re-install the update. No problem